Exsus Travel Reviews

Exsus Travel has more than 20 years' experience of creating luxury tailor-made holidays all around the world. Over the years, we've received countless testimonials from people who have travelled with us on a luxury holiday, bespoke honeymoon or family adventure. Many of these clients come back time and again for their tailor-made travel. Below is a selection of reviews from clients who've returned from a holiday with us recently.

Feefo logo

 

The Agron family travelled to Spain, Portugal and Morocco, October 2018


“Thank you Ali! It was a wonderful and memorable trip. All of the guides in Morocco were so kind and knowledgeable, and our driver was first rate. He went above and beyond to ensure that we had a wonderful trip. The visit to the Berber market in Azrou was really special. We enjoyed it largely because it was very off-the-beaten-path, and there were no other tourists in sight. Afterwards, our driver took us for tea at the home of a Berber family nearby, which was a really unique experience.

It was very nice to finish our holiday at the Four Seasons in Lisbon. They probably had the best hotel gym I’ve ever seen. Thanks again so much for putting together a wonderful trip”.

Linda Beidler-D'Aguilar travelled to Mexico, September 2018


Caroline was fantastic during our holiday in Mexico: on very last-minute notice she was able to arrange a wonderful half-day tour of the historic centre of Mexico City. Beatriz, the tour guide, was utterly charming. As a former history professor, she provided a great deal of insight into the historical context of the sites we visited, and had a wealth of knowledge on the political connotations and associations as well. The excavated pyramid of the sun was astonishing, and the Diego Riviera murals were extraordinary”.

Christine and Maurice Prove travelled to Italy, September 2018


Gina gave us excellent guidance for our holiday with her knowledge of Italy, and she always kept in contact and remained efficient throughout. Exsus gives a really personal service with a complete bespoke itinerary".

Lesley and Christian travelled to Iceland, September 2018

Gina was excellent - helpful and not intrusive. Our holiday in Iceland offered us everything on the itinerary and more. Our guide, Ao, was always on time and could not do enough to ensure our trip was fantastic. Hotel Grimsborgir was wonderful - it was quiet and relaxing, exactly what we wanted. The car was great, much better than a 4x4 for the driving we had to do.

The excursions were perfect for us: bounding up waterfalls to take pictures and then onto the next iconic landmark. I was a little worried about the snorkelling, but once in, it was fantastic. We loved the black beach, and the glacier hike was an amazing experience and we had time to have fun and soak it all up. We have wonderful pictures/videos of us drinking glacier water 'Viking' style”.

Barbara Clift travelled to China, September 2018

Flora was exceedingly knowledgeable, and was helpful and responsive to our many questions. Our holiday in China was a very worthwhile and different experience. All our guides were excellent - our conversations with them about their culture, history and way of life were knowledgeable and fascinating. Our highlights include the Impression light show, the Great Wall, the Forbidden City and the Terracotta Warriors”.


Nikki and Travis Trembath travelled on honeymoon to Italy, September 2018

Gina was such a great asset for planning our holiday in Italy and did an excellent job. She was very knowledgeable and understood our vision for the trip, and we have been raving about her to all our friends. She picked the best hotels and she was very helpful with recommendations through the entire process. I loved that she was not afraid to be honest when I asked specific questions, which made me comfortable with her understanding of what we wanted. I couldn't be happier with her expert guidance and professionalism, and her honest, direct and candid advice, which was so important in selecting the right options for us. Thank you also for the sweet notes on our arrival in each place. The little touches and attention to detail along the way really made us feel so special. Thank you!

Our trip was amazing! It was a dream holiday. It was seamless once we landed in Italy. There isn't a thing we would change. Casa Angelina and Il Salviatino were excellent. The service and attention to detail was unparalleled - Marta at Il Salviatino was awesome - and it was nice so nice to get an upgrade at Il Salviatino. Perfect! The breakfasts at both hotels were delicious and the views were unreal - at Casa Angelina, the sunset was unbelievable.

The full-day private boat tour was exceptional. The boat was nice and our boat captain was great. He was knowledgeable, friendly, and spoke great English, and he suggested a great local restaurant for lunch, which we really enjoyed. The bike tour of Florence was also perfect for us. Our guide, Giada, was so knowledgeable and gave enough information to be interesting and not boring or overwhelming.”

Wendy Ensink and family travelled to Greece, September 2018

Ali is always so helpful, especially when I mess up. Which I normally do! Our holiday in Greece had everything we needed to chill out and the flights were great. We loved Sani Dunes - the staff and service were fabulous. Another highlight was the private boat cruise with dinner, then the party after - a fabulous day”.

Ken and Christine travelled to Iceland, September 2018

Gina was excellent: she kept us informed and reacted to exactly what we wanted in a positive manner. Our trip to Iceland was well organised throughout and covered everything we wanted. Our guides and drivers were also excellent - Ao was an absolute star and made the trip for us. It’s difficult to say what our highlights were as it was so varied and different every day”.

Jackie Taylor travelled to Italy, September 2018

Gina, I would like to thank you so much for the most wonderful trip in Italy! I had a brilliant time. I think that Exsus spoiled me a little (well, a lot) and I would like to say how much I appreciated that. Gina was friendly and helpful right from the start and nothing was too much trouble. She was incredibly quick to respond to any queries that I had and she went out of her way to help when things went a little awry. It was a really lovely trip with a bit of everything thrown in. Your choice of hotels was spot on and all my connections were on time and easy. I think that Gina realised very quickly the sort of person I was and what I would and wouldn't like. She was brilliant!”

My stay at Castel Monastero was the highlight of my trip. It was really something - what a lovely place and all the staff were amazing and the food was exceptional. I do hope I get the chance to go back there. Oh my goodness, Venice! I loved Venice! The staff at Ca Maria Adele were just lovely. The Amalfi Coast was the most beautiful place I have ever seen and I nearly used up all my iCloud photo space on the boat trip alone, which was just lovely. Oh, and the lemon tour! I think it was the best tour I've ever been on. I loved Alberobello and immediately sent a text to a friend saying this is where I wanted to retire to, though I'm not sure the locals would allow it! And, of course, my cave at Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita was out of this world. I absolutely loved it. An extraordinary place.

And you, Gina, have been totally terrific throughout the whole process and you always made me feel that I was the only person you were dealing with. Thank you for that. Thanks for everything. You have been an absolute STAR!!”

Sharin and Nimmy travelled on honeymoon to Greece, September 2018

"We had the best time in Greece. Thank you so much Gina for arranging it all for us - you have been helpful from the beginning to the end of the trip. The bike tour was incredible - we had a great guide who made it fun and interesting (lots of Greek mythology involved, we loved it!). Your selection for the accommodation has been excellent as well, and all the hotels you booked for us were impeccable. Our main highlights include the beautiful sunsets, the amazing Greek food and Vin Santo wine, the outdoor Jacuzzi at Altana Traditional Houses and Suites and the amazing infinity pool at Myconian Avaton. Once again, thank you for a memorable honeymoon trip!”

Filippo Emanuele and family travelled to Tanzania , August 2018

"Our trip to Tanzania was amazing. Peter always provided complete, precise and unbiased advice. He was always available when needed and was easy to relate to. His suggestions on how to organise the trip and his ability to listen to our concerns and proposals was most appreciated. He is very professional - a top-class travel consultant.

Everything went to plan. We didn't have to worry about anything as we were always taken care of. Going on a safari has been something that we have wanted to do for many years and this trip exceeded all our expectations. The vast majority of the time we were on our own or with limited ‘competition’ from others, allowing us to properly see the wildlife.

All of the places we stayed were excellent in their own way. Our top-rated hotels have to be Kimondo and Tarangire Treetops due to the fact that they are so special. You really are on ‘safari’ when staying here, complete with roaming elephants at Tarangire. The staff at all locations were very welcoming and friendly, and the service is exceptional - you leave the place feeling part of the family: they go the extra mile. The week at the beach was also very welcome, and Riu Zanzibar is set in beautiful grounds, and has a lovely beach location - it was just what we needed after the safari.

The guides and drivers were excellent. Nassoro, our guide until we moved to the Serengeti, was exceptional, experienced, welcoming and full of relevant information. We created a good bond with him, and he comes highly recommended. Sebastien, our guide at Kimondo, was also friendly, exceptionally well prepared and had extremely good wildlife knowledge, and was ready to help us see as many things as we possibly could - especially the Great Migration river crossing. 

There are too many highlights to mention: our first day out in Arusha and our first exposure to the safari experience and the wildlife, the beauty of Tarangire Treetops, the welcome, service and location of Kimondo, the Great Migration, the multitude of wildlife, the beauty of Zanzibar’s sea and beaches... the list goes on. Thank you Exsus for making it all possible. We really did have a fantastic time and many thanks again to you for helping it happen. Another stunning Exsus holiday.”

Sarah Insall travelled to Sri Lanka, August 2018

"Flora was on top of everything for our trip to Sri Lanka, promptly getting in touch when necessary. She happily made as many changes to our plans until we were completely happy with the itinerary, and she was always friendly. We had the most amazing time! It was planned meticulously but with flexibility to change as we wanted. All the hotels were very nice and luxurious”.

Annabel Tonge and family travelled to Canada, August 2018

"Our holiday in Canada was probably the best family holiday we’ve ever had. Jenny was excellent. She was very knowledgeable and up to date on the best places to stay and recommended good activities to do with our teenage kids.  She was very easy to work with, and was helpful and pleasant to talk to.

The hotels were all excellent, and well located, with lots of on-site activities in most for the children. The concierges were really great, particularly in the Fairmont Waterfront in Vancouver and Long Beach Lodge Resort in Tofino on Vancouver Island.

The guides and drivers were also excellent. We got a duplicate pack of our itinerary when we arrived which had some additional useful suggestions for stop-offs on our road trips, addresses for meet-ups for the Whistler activities and general information that was also very helpful.  We got a great upgraded car at no extra cost and the person who served us was really helpful.

I can’t fault any of the activities - they were spot on for our adventurous kids. We walked up Grouse Mountain in Vancouver and rode the gondola back down and I would highly recommend that as an option for sporty families. There are so many highlights to choose from, but these were three particularly amazing days: ziplining in Whistler in the morning and walking the High Note Trail on Blackcomb Mountain; riding the rapids in Whistler in the morning and bear watching in the afternoon; and walking the Sulphur Skyline Trail walk and coming back down to sit in the Miette Hot Springs at the bottom of the trail in Jasper. It was a truly excellent trip”.

Caroline and Richard B travelled to Scotland, August 2018

"Thank you so much Alison for organising this trip in Scotland for us. It was amazing, the best holiday for me, I loved it so much. It was beautiful.

The hotels were all amazing, above our expectations - we’ve never seen any places so beautiful, so well looked after, and squeaky clean! Everywhere we went I was very impressed by how clean everything was. The staff at Dunstane Houses are excellent and we felt so welcome there. Scots are so friendly.

The whisky tasting was so good we did another one the next day. And the smell of nature, and the taste of the tap water - unbelievable! We had good weather and were out a lot for walks, and it was enchanting - all our senses are in awe with Scotland."

Lindsay Earle travelled to Colombia, August 2018

Caroline was outstanding - very thorough, very organised, and extremely professional - and I loved my holiday in Colombia. The Ananda Boutique Hotel in Cartagena and the Hotel Boutique Don Pepe in Santa Marta were excellent and the staff were exceptional. The guides and drivers were outstanding, and the photographic guides were really exceptional. My highlights include San Basilio de Palenque and Nueva Venecia. Thank you again”.

Singh and family travelled to Greece, August 2018

"The Myconian Villa Collection worked very well for us as a family, so much so that we spent most of the holiday enjoying our private pool. We had intended to go out more and do things, but felt just so comfortable there and all had a much needed rest. We liked that we could use the facilities of the other nearby Myconian hotels. We went into town one evening and had fun. Thank you Alison so much for organising our Greece trip, it was such a memorable holiday."

Adam Mercer and Mark Awad travelled to Italy, July 2018

"Gina went above and beyond to make sure we had all we needed before and during our trip to Italy. We needed to change the time of one of our ferry trips, and she arranged the entire thing within minutes of getting the email, and she called me back right away to confirm. Exceptional! It was a wonderfully-planned holiday, and Gina made it all so easy. I think Exsus provided us with an exceptionally high-quality experience we would not normally have on a holiday; we spent for that, but it was worth it!

All the hotels hit exactly the points that I explained I wanted to Gina. The Hotel Mamela over-delivered with the wonderful pool. The Punta Regina was smaller, but had a fantastically helpful staff, which was essential in Positano. The Inn at the Spanish Steps was shockingly modern and gorgeous for such a high-traffic, in-demand spot. Wonderful all around! The drivers we had were also really excellent - luxury cars, well dressed, and great service.

The trip provided us with a great group experience - a wonderful way to make some new friends and have fun on the boat. The captain was helpful and nice, and we had all the drinks we wanted. The boat was very well maintained, and we had a nice option to do some exploring on our own in Amalfi or join for lunch on a sail-in beach. A great trip. Rome was amazing, and while I was worried about spending so many days in the hot city, it was the perfect amount of time. Capri was the island life we wanted right from the start. Positano was fantastic, and the hotel staff helped us seek out the local restaurants”.

Caroline Stone and Liz Jacoby travelled to New York and the Hamptons, July 2018

"Jenny was fantastic – she kept us in the loop about everything and was extremely easy to get hold of. Her hotel recommendations were spot on and she made the whole process extremely easy. We both had a wonderful time - from the moment we got into the Virgin lounge until the time we landed back at Heathrow. Everything worked out perfectly – the only drawback is we wanted to stay longer!

Both hotels were great. Hotel Hugo was in a fantastic location really close to Greenwich Village with all the bars and restaurants. It was extremely comfortable and we loved the rooftop bar. White Fences Inn was wonderful - the owners couldn't do enough for us, even bringing us out some wonderful rosé when we were sunbathing by the pool. The breakfasts were restaurant quality and very varied. I am so glad that we had a car here so we could go out and explore. The drivers we had in New York were great - they arrived on time and got us to where we needed to be.”

Melissa Bell and Alex Hutchinson travelled on honeymoon to Italy, July 2018

"Ali, I just wanted to say a big thank you for helping us arrange our honeymoon in Italy! We loved every moment! The hotels were just superb - each so different, but perfect, with real charm and character. It was honestly the best holiday we have ever been on, it was so perfect.”

Anne Becken and Michael Hartwell travelled on honeymoon to Italy, July 2018


"It's difficult to describe our honeymoon in Italy in words, but I'll settle for perfect. Your services were absolutely exceptional. Gina was super-responsive, kind, and tailored our trip to exactly our wants and needs! She was excellent - there are no other words to describe her. Our holiday was perfect from start to finish. The mix of sun, relaxation, activities and locations was excellent for our honeymoon.

Each hotel had its own unique offering and they were the perfect complements to each leg of the trip. Needless to say, we indulged in everything we could and soaked up all of the fun and sun possible. I could go on and on over each one (welcome champagne and hand massage at Villa Marina Capri, the rooftop pool at Hotel Villa Franca overlooking Positano, the amazing chef and excellent meals at Lupaia, etc etc - PERFECTO!). Our highlights include the boat tour, the limoncello tour and the cooking class at Lupaia". 

Alexander and Sandy Norrie travelled on honeymoon to Italy, July 2018


"Gina was excellent throughout the whole experience, and the touch of calling the night before to check we had everything was superb. During our honeymoon in Italy, we especially loved the vineyard visits and wine tastings".

Sian, Steve and Christine Owen travelled to Croatia, June 2018

"Just a quick note to say THANK YOU Gina for organising such a great holiday in Croatia for us. All the arrangements worked perfectly, the hotels were great - special mention for Hotel Korsal in Korcula - so charming, with wonderful staff - and I should also say that Rixos Libertas in Dubrovnik proved delightful. The location was great, the staff were wonderful and the extensive breakfast buffet made it difficult to get my mum out! Even the weather played ball. We loved the app too - very useful. Croatia itself was a revelation, such a beautiful and welcoming place. And every single driver and guide was unfailingly helpful."

Kelly England and family travelled to Greece, June 2018

"Gina did a great job of planning and booking our holiday in Greece. Her recommendations were excellent. This was one of the best holidays we have taken! The local guides and drivers were excellent, as were the tours, and we loved both of the hotels on Mykonos and Santorini. The service was exceptional and the locations were perfect."

Linda Beidler-D'Aguilar and partner travelled to Colombia, May 2018

 

Caroline was a delight to work with - she proved immensely knowledgeable about the places we wanted to see on the Caribbean coast of Colombia, and put together an itinerary that maximised our opportunities to immerse ourselves in natural beauty as well as local culture. She spent a lot of time discussing what we wanted in terms of activities and accommodation, and the end result was a trip that far exceeded our expectations. Caroline arranged an utterly extraordinary holiday, for which we are truly grateful.

“Our hotels were unique not only in character but also had distinctive cuisine, and the staff were uniformly warm and welcoming. The guided tours - in particular a trek to an indigenous village - were outstanding, and the guides themselves were not only charming but deeply knowledgeable.”

Chris Mairs and Gemma Gucci travelled to Venice and Vienna, May 2018

"Thank you Gina for organising a great trip to Venice and Vienna - great hotels, seamless transfers and fabulous activities. If I could give higher than excellent to the Belmond Hotel Cipriani I would, and the Venice Simplon-Orient-Express was excellent”.
 

Vaishali Shah travelled to Croatia, May 2018

"Firstly Ali thank you for such a wonderful trip to Croatia and making my birthday feel very special. Everything was organised so well that I don't know how to thank you enough. We had a fabulous time and I work in the same industry yet I could not fault anything. Really a job well done! Great memories from a trip with Exsus!" 

Alastair and Fiona Gornall travelled to Australia and Dubai, April 2018

 

Flora is excellent and really knows her markets. She also knows what we like on holiday and always find perfect places to visit. Emirates is without a doubt the best airline in the world and flying first class to Australia takes a lot of the stress out of the trip. One&Only The Palm is an amazing hotel and we think one of the best we have ever stayed in around the world and was a wonderful stopover on the way home.”

 

Maria Daniiloudi and partner travelled to India, March 2018 


"Flora 
was excellent from the very beginning when we started to plan our trip to India. We gave her a difficult brief, as we wanted to see and do a lot of things in just the ten days that we had available. We had a lot of questions about the areas we could visit within this time period, so explored a few scenarios, and she was always very responsive and informative. We also had to change the initial dates of the trip and although she had worked on the previous dates she delivered an updated itinerary promptly and fast. I know I can be quite fussy with details but Flora was always available and keen to answer/explain/sort out every single detail of the trip and accommodate all our wishes.

The whole organisation of our trip was also outstanding: everything worked as planned and on schedule (and we were on a very tight schedule) and we were always feeling in control and safe. Of course, needless to say that she has a vast knowledge of India, which in combination with her commitment and dedication, enabled her to pull together an unforgettable experience!

It was an absolutely amazing and diverse experience. We've been exposed to so many different aspects of India - from the great palaces to the chaotic and overwhelming everyday life, and from rural local communities to the jungle and the wildlife! Everything was super-organised, so we had no hassle at all, which really let us enjoy every single moment of our journey.

The people you work with in India are absolutely amazing - our driver, our tour guides and the people that welcomed us at the airport, the hotels and the train station (we did not have to wait there for a single second!) were all very professional and keen to accommodate all our wishes (like when we wanted to upgrade to an exclusive safari and they arranged it immediately) and sort out any issues. We were always feeling safe and that everything was under control throughout our journey.”

Martin Thomas and partner travelled to Sri Lanka, February and March 2018

 

"Flora organised a fantastic itinerary for our trip to Sri Lanka and was very patient with the continued changes that we made. She had good advice and clearly knew which were the best things to do." 

Dave and Christine Pratt travelled to India, February and March 2018

"Georgina was very efficient and pleasant in her manner in all our dealings with her for our trip to India. A wonderful experience. Because we chose to stay in the Kerala region, we were not exhausted by travelling between venues and yet each of our venues provided a very different experience. Purity offered us a very comfortable room and a beautiful setting for meals. We took advantage of several optional trips, which added a lot to our stay. Marari Beach offered comfortable accommodation, good service, essential shelter around a nice swimming pool and good food. The Windermere Estate in Munnar, set in a coffee and cardamon plantation, was a good venue for some interesting walks and visits. The set menu food was good value. The locality offered opportunities, of which we took advantage, for Ayurvedic massages as well as speciality local dances and martial arts.

The houseboat was a lovely experience, especially in the early evening and morning when the backwaters were relatively quiet and the sun was setting/rising. The Ginger House Museum was quite spectacular. Packed with antiquities, it was a most unusual setting but one not to be missed. It provided the most uplifting aesthetic experience. We also enjoyed talking to the owner who is a remarkably humble, lovely person. At all the venues, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. 

One of the things that made the holiday special was the excellence of the guides and drivers. At Cochin we were guided by Philip Rogers (Rojan). He showed us many sides of the local area of Cochin and made it very interesting, and we really enjoyed his personal stories about the politics of the caste system and gender-related issues. At Munnar, we were guided by a young postdoctoral student as we walked along the tea plantation. He was knowledgeable and we felt we got to know him in a way that livened up the experience. Both his and Philip's English was excellent. Our driver from the airport at landing until almost the end of the holiday was Saji, who was so helpful it is hard to put into words our level of appreciation. We also had every confidence in his driving on roads which were often full of potholes and difficult to negotiate. He was prepared to make suggestions for additional activities and helped us with exchanging money and finding things we needed.  

Karen and Brendan McManus travelled to the Maldives, January 2018

 

"I wanted to let you know what a fabulous holiday we had in the MaldivesFlora kept us fully up to date and was enormously flexible to our changing demands! From the pick up at our apartment to the drop off on our return, everything was pretty much seamless. It was a long journey, three flights and a boat, and was managed very well. Arriving at the resort made everything worthwhile! Excellent isn't a big enough word to describe this fantastic island. Everything was exceptional, the staff (who are called family members and all know who you are, which villa you're in and what you like almost instantly - incredible), the quality of service, the restaurants, the food, the selection of drinks, the quality of the villas, the beach - absolutely everything is outstanding.

Milaidhoo is simply wonderful, the beach villa that we had (no 215) was absolutely perfect. Sitting at our table in the Ba'theli restaurant and being able to watch black-tipped sharks, stingrays, turtles and a variety of different fish was pretty spectacular. We will be sharing our fabulous experience with all of our friends and family and we hope to go back as soon as we can! All in all - a truly wonderful experience! Flora, just wanted to say thanks to you and the team for pulling, yet again, another fabulous holiday out of the hat for us - huge thanks!"

Wendy Ensink and her family travelled to Sweden, December 2017/January 2018

"Gina was great, helpful and worked through the whole trip to Sweden with me. We had a marvellous, amazing time. The whole experience was wonderful, incredible. We upgraded to an art room in the ICEHOTEL which was fun. We had the most amazing time at Fjellborg Lodge. The staff and excursions were all fantastic. Cross country skiing was fun, and so was the horseback riding. We saw more moose in the car on the way there than we did on the ride, but still enjoyed it. New Year’s Eve was amazing, from ice sculpturing in the morning, to the best moon in the sky for dog mushing. Then an open fire with champagne, followed by dinner and then the Northern Lights. Just amazing. A big thank you for everything, especially the Happy New Year sign. A lovely touch" 


Claudia and her family travelled to Argentina, November 2017

"We got back from Argentina days ago, and are still on cloud nine from our amazing trip!! You nailed it!! Millie is great to work with - she is patient, attentive, and really spends the time getting to know what we like/don't like in order to build an itinerary that is the right fit for us. The itinerary was perfect - a great balance between culture and adventure and relaxation, and perfectly sequenced. Posada Verde Oliva was really special. The accommodation and the grounds were beautiful and peaceful - but the real star of this place was the food! Dinner was fantastic and after full days of wine tasting, we chose (as well as all of the other guests staying there) to have dinner at the posada every night - something you should recommend to your future clients. The guides (and drivers!) were all great - very knowledgeable and friendly.

I wouldn't change anything. This was honestly the best trip we have ever taken - everything was perfect... from the flow of our itinerary to the tours to all the hotels. I just wish we could have stayed a month, rather than 11 days! I can't thank you enough for really taking the time to put together a trip that fitted us so well. We are already thinking about where we want to go in 2018 and will be in touch soon!

Peter Streets and his son travelled to Chile, November 2017

"Caroline was a great help in creating our trip to Chile. Her great advice resulted in a genuine trip of a lifetime! The night skies were astonishing! This was one of the main reasons behind our initial decision to go - but the scenery in the Atacama Desert is equally amazing.

Timothy Rees and partner travelled to Argentina & Uruguay, November 2017

"Caroline constructed an excellent itinerary to Argentina and Uruguay which matched our expectations well and suited our interests and expectations of this trip. She was responsive and worked with us well, with flexibility in any alterations right up to and during the trip. We were delighted with the overall standard of the trip and our expectations were more than met! It was a complicated itinerary with many transfers / hotels / flights and tours, but there were no delays, and local agents were always there when you expected them to be there. Hotel standards were as expected and often more than we'd expected. There was  enough 'downtime' between tours to relax, and the time spent travelling and resting was well balanced. Caroline chose interesting tours which were often 'less touristy' and were well matched to our interests as we'd discussed in planning the holiday.

Highlights of the trip: the dramatic scenery of Salta state, the wine tastings in Cafayate, the Rojo Tango show, visits to La Boca and Tigre, the La Bamba experience, great food and wine."

James and Leiola travelled to Japan, October 2017

"Gina was great. Pretty incredible that she pulled this off in less than two weeks! We had a great time. We fit in so much in Japan in such a short amount of time, I definitely would not have been able to do that without Gina's help. The guides were fantastic. I love their knowledge of history, and they were pretty awesome with teaching me how to use the subway/train. I may actually be able to not get lost if I go back... Bonus! The private car/driver to and from the airport was first class, a Mercedes van both ways. It made arrival and departure very stress-free. 

The excursions are what I think set Exsus apart from going on your own. These were special experiences with local people showing us their culture. I really loved it.  We found some gems. Some easy to find, some we just lucked into. The dinner with the Geiko/Maiko in Kyoto was super. I was speechless, and that doesn't happen very often. The tea ceremony was also special. The owner of the house was 17th generation, and his family's house has been there since 1555. You could just smell the history. Both would be at the top of my list of recommendations.

There was no way I could have done this on my own and planned this in two weeks, and even if I could have done it, I'm not sure we would have been able to do the things that Gina helped plan for us. Epic trip. My wife was super happy!

Kritika Handa and her husband Rahul travelled on honeymoon to Italy, September 2017 

 

We've thought about you often Gina! We wanted to thank you for planning such an amazing honeymoon for us. The hotels you chose -  Grand Hotel Tremezzo, Il Salviatino and Villa Franca - were marvellous. We had such an amazing time. Thank you for being so patient and so very helpful every step of the way. 

Joseph Glynne and family travelled to Greece, September 2017



"The main thing that made using Exsus great was Gina. Right from the first call down to the last she was absolutely fantastic! She couldn't do enough for us and even managed to wangle us an upgrade which absolutely made the trip. I have to say - Gina has been beyond fantastic throughout this whole process. I cannot praise her enough, she's an absolute star. The Sani Resort was phenomenal. The setting, the staff, the food, the creche. #Dreamy. The breakfasts especially, but also the buffet-style dinners were absolutely DREAMY. The best breakfasts I've ever had on holiday - and you get a whole jug of freshly squeezed OJ (The tastiest OJ of all time. Not an exaggeration!).

Highlights: the resort in general, especially the beach, as the sea was so great. But the creche was the real highlight as Gracie, our daughter, loved it and we got to have chill time every day."

Rachel A and family travelled to Canada, August 2017


"We had a fabulous trip in Canada - such a great mixture of places to visit, places to stay and things to do and see, and Exsus was always helpful, responded to our queries quickly and was so helpful while we were away. We absolutely loved Tweedsmuir Park Lodge, Wickaninnish Inn (especially the beaches) and Moraine Lake Lodge (especially the food and the great location).

The guides were fantastic, so knowledgeable, and gave us so many insights into the nature and culture of the region. We saw black bears at very close quarters, which was amazing, and really enjoyed snorkelling with salmon - a very different activity. The two boat safaris were fantastic: we were incredibly lucky as we saw quite a few grey whales, chased a pod of orcas, and also saw sea otters and sea lions. In the afternoon we watched a couple of male bears and a mother and her cub."

Lana Marvelle and Andy Webb travelled to Italy, July 2017

 

Gina, we want to let you know what a beautiful job you did on our Italy trip. Andy and I are sitting and taking the time to let you know that it was so well planned, every hotel was beautiful, as well as the rooms, and the execution of transportation, tours and our schedule was so precise and pleasing. You can rest assured that when we need professional travel services, we will be calling you again!


Eamon Lynam and family travelled to South Africa, July 2017


"Our safari in South Africa was excellent in every aspect. Victoria Falls is a must-see for anybody visiting the area!"

DeAnna and Joe travelled on honeymoon to Spain, June 2017


"Our honeymoon in Spain was all we hoped it would be, with the hotels, guides and drivers choreographed perfectly, allowing us to truly enjoy the areas we were able to visit. Our highlights include exploring Seville, visiting the amazing King's Palace, and in Barcelona, seeing the Sagrada Familia, of course - a true man-made wonder of the world! Santa Eulalia was the perfect ending to our trip: quaint and laid-back for relaxing in a beautiful atmosphere with very friendly staff. 

Alison has been a joy to work with from the beginning, and she had a genuine interest in providing a honeymoon that will always be cherished, and kudos for providing personal touches along the way!"


Mr and Mrs Shears travelled to Scotland, June 2017


"Alison was brilliant. Attentive and full of ideas and enthusiasm. I felt like I was her only customer! We just wish we could have been able to try more of her suggestions! The Balmoral in Edinburgh was outstanding, and the Dome restaurant is stunning and was a great way to finish our holiday." 


Nigel Dryden and partner travelled to Peru and the Galapagos, June 2017


"The trip to Peru and Galapagos was awesome. Loved it all. We wouldn't change a single thing! We loved seeing the howler monkeys at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion, going wildlife spotting in the Amazon and snorkelling in the Galapagos. Millie has great knowledge and good recommendations, and was really helpful during the planning, as she was always willing to make and suggest changes." 


Nicole and Thomas Horn travelled to Greece, May 2017


"Exsus is the best travel company! Gina was so personal, I felt like I was her only client. I loved the location she picked for our car rental, it was very easy to get out of central Athens. Everything was wonderful. We loved driving through Greece. At some points it felt like we were in Italy, then California, then the Alps! So much fun!" 


Lisa and partner travelled to Costa Rica, May 2017


"It was a very well-planned itinerary. The service at all points was professional and courteous as well as timely. I did like the Vamoos travel app too. Millie provided excellent suggestions along with great details to allow us to capture an ideal and comprehensive experience in Costa Rica. I was very impressed with the fact that we could converse about the trip details during our time away. Our highlights were the people, the service and the beautiful landscape. We also loved the restaurant La Divina Comida in San Jose." 


Devina and Nila travelled to Vietnam, May 2017


"Our trip to Vietnam was a perfect balance between a charming historical town (Hoi An), a beach escape (Nha Trang) and a developing but dynamic city break (Saigon). Whilst Hoi An is steeped in colonial history and its lantern-lined streets are full of charm, Nha Trang’s beaches must be among the best in Asia and are not far from stunning Buddhist pagodas. Saigon, meanwhile, has a real buzz and with its French-style boutiques and trendy coffee houses, is incredibly cosmopolitan.

Our welcoming guides met us on arrival and provided insightful overviews of the history and highlights of each area. They were also more than helpful to tailor our tours to accommodate particular things/places we wanted to visit. Each of our hotels (Maison Vy in Hoi An, Mia Resort in Nha Trang, and Fusion Suites in Saigon) were well chosen, particularly as we both like boutique-style hotels. The food and drink was probably the icing on the cake of the trip – everything from juices on the street and the wonderful summer rolls in the markets, to vegetarian eateries and the exotic fruits.

Flora has been excellent in organising a trip, at a reasonable price, incorporating everything we wanted to see within a short time frame - thank you so much!" 


Varun and Arpitaa Agarwal travelled to Italy, May 2017


"The trip was awesome... we could've stayed for longer! Italy is a great destination and we covered a lot. Everything was well taken care of, with no issues at all. Both of us were very happy and enjoyed ourselves. The Monastero Santa Rosa and the Capri Palace Hotel & Spa are in a different league, and we got upgrades as well. 

Gina was great. She has been extremely helpful, polite and courteous, and understood my requirements very well. The trip she planned out was excellent and I can't thank her enough." 


Linda Beidler-D'Aguilar & partner travelled to Namibia, May 2017


"We were so very excited about this trip to Namibia because it's been a dream of ours for a number of years - and it surpassed our highest expectations. Raquel did an outstanding job - she provided lots of information, and worked hard to customise our journey. The Kulala and Ongava lodges were outstandingly comfortable, with excellent amenities and service. Kulala stood out because of the chance to sleep on a rooftop bed, while Ongava's reserve was breathtaking. Our time at the Desert Rhino Camp was the unquestionable highlight of our trip because the experience itself was so unique - but even more because of the warmth of the welcome, the charming staff and guides and the quality of the hospitality. We were sad to leave!

Our guide and driver, Stewart, was exceptionally well-informed, knowledgeable and personable. We had a wonderful time with him, learning about the flora and fauna - plus lots of laughs. Travelling in a Toyota Land Cruiser was an exceptionally comfortable way to see Namibia, and gave us unparalleled game viewing opportunities as well. Stewart's breakfasts in Sossusvlei after our early morning walks were delicious.

As well as the entire experience at the Desert Rhino Camp, and our wonderful guide, our other highlights include the astonishing number and variety of wildlife we saw in Etosha and Ongava, our drive up the Skeleton Coast en route from Swakopmund to Desert Rhino Camp (the seal colony at Cape Cross was unforgettable!), and the helicopter ride to the coast, which was terrifically fun and wildly scenic. We also recommend The Tug in Swakopmund - it was unique and the food delicious."

Michael & partner travelled to Vietnam, May 2017


"Vietnam was amazing. We loved going round the Cu Chi tunnels and found it very interesting. We also loved the Vespa tour. The Amanoi was just unbelievable. Amazing infinity pools, incredible service, great food, picturesque setting... What more can you say?!"

Vanessa Webber & partner travelled to Oman, May 2017


"We loved Oman - beautiful country, peaceful people, mountains, desert, turtles, Muscat and beach. Still unspoilt. We particularly enjoyed sunset on the camel ride (very calm, well looked after camels) and sunrise where we walked up the sand dunes. Mohamed, our driver and guide was excellent - very helpful, very friendly, very knowledgeable.  Although the holiday was only eight nights, it felt like a long holiday and it was lovely and relaxing at the end. Alison was extremely helpful and knowledgeable; nothing was too much trouble."

Jennifer Wright & Daniel Kibblesmith travelled to Morocco, April 2017


"Our trip to Morocco was truly the best we've ever had. And we never could have done it ourselves! Dallal has been so patient and attentive, and has truly made this an outstanding experience. Our driver in particular was so helpful, whether it was showing us how to haggle or taking pictures to help us remember the trip. We were already excited about going up in the hot air balloon - but getting served a champagne breakfast onboard really turned it into one of the most memorable experiences we've had. Obviously, riding a camel is also something we might never get to do again, and the tent in the desert blew us away. We both found great souvenirs at the tannery in Fes, and I really loved getting to check out the parfumerie in Marrakech. Now, whenever I put on that perfume, I think of Morocco. 

If we had spent double the money and tried to do this ourselves we NEVER would have been able to plan the trip this well!"

Em & family travelled to Italy, April 2017


"Thanks Exsus once again for the unreal holiday in Italy! We enjoyed our private boat trip on Lake Como and the visit to Villa Balbiano, which most people don't even know about. Your guide was so knowledgeable she timed our tour so it was just us, and not with the main group. Thanks also for the suggestion for Hotel Villa Athena, a beautiful, charming hotel in Agrigento, and for arranging my mother's birthday dinner at the Michelin-starred restaurant Principe Cerami in Taormina, which was just perfect. Can't wait for our next trip!"

Terry & Nora Freeman travelled to Grenada, Caribbean, April 2017


"We would like to say thank you once again for your help, organisation and hard work for our fabulous holiday in Grenada. We felt like royalty! It was wonderful, and thank you also for the flowers for Nora's birthday - they were a lovely surprise. We enjoyed the VIP lounge in Grenada airport (another nice surprise), and our hotel, the Spice Island Beach Resort, was also wonderful. Our suite had a large plunge pool, a sauna, a patio area and a garden with our own lizard! The main pool, beach and views, as you know, are beautiful.

We could never get bored here: we went on several trips, and saw waterfalls, the rainforest, two chocolate factories, a nutmeg station, the old airfield, spice markets and the mysterious lake at an altitude of 1,000 feet. We also did a snorkelling trip - which is must - to the sunken statues of Artist Bay and the reefs of Flamingo Bay.

In summary, it was perfect for us, for what we needed this time, and as I said earlier the whole experience felt like we were royalty."

Ms S & family travelled to Italy, April 2017


"The trip to Italy was wonderful. Both cities [Florence and Venice] are magical places to visit and the hotels were perfect. All the organisation went like clockwork and we loved it. We will definitely be returning to both places!"

Nampetch & Narit travelled on honeymoon to Italy, March 2017


"Thanks to you and the Exsus team for an exceptional honeymoon trip you organised for us around Italy, including the room upgrades - this was perfect. All of the services and transportations were also seamlessly perfect. We really appreciated the notes and champagne you left in our rooms. We really enjoyed our time in Italy, and we will remember this trip for a long time to come. Thank you so much!"

Julian Smith & friends travelled to South America, March 2017


"The service we have had from Exsus all the way through our holiday in South America has been just about perfect: we really appreciate everything you have done."

Catherine McDonald travelled to Oman, February 2017


"Amazing trip - we are so glad that we travelled around so much in Oman. Alison structured an excellent itinerary for us and helped quickly and efficiently with small issues before we left.

Abdullah, our guide for the mountains and desert, was wonderful. He had a wealth of knowledge and was very thoughtful and flexible in the way that he tweaked our schedule. Made the holiday for us. The guide and driver for Muscat were both charming. We also went dolphin-watching in Muscat - and luckily saw some dolphins. Easy and fun.

The highlights - hiking in the mountains, the wadis, everything about the Alila Jabal Akhdar and, of course, Abdullah."

Phillippa Rooney & family travelled to Iceland, January 2017


"We saw some amazing sights in Iceland and enjoyed both the tour guides we had. We loved getting outside, walking, snowmobiling, etc, and we loved the super jeep! The guide was very nice and tuned in well to us, and we felt completely confident in his driving abilities which was quite important as he took the vehicle in all sorts of places we wouldn't have wanted to do ourselves! Svavar, the guide we had on the last two days, was also super - he was very interesting and funny and spent a lot of time helping our daughter Rose with her photography. 

Snowmobiling was fabulous and we had an amazing day seeing waterfalls and geysers. The jeep day to Thorsmork was also excellent - we went onto a glacier and saw an ice cave, and also went into a canyon and climbed up to a waterfall, which was quite an adventure. 

On the south coast tour, we saw where the volcano had erupted that closed Europe's airports, and the black sand beach and rock formations were well worth the visit, and we went to a glacier on the way back. 

Restaurants - the fish market that you booked for us was great, we had a round table for eight of us which worked really well. We had the tasting menu and it was really excellent. We also had a nice meal at KOL.

The Blue Lagoon was a great thing to do on the way to the airport - best airport travelling day we have ever had!" 

Mr & Mrs Rigg travelled to Thailand and Cambodia, January 2017


"Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday in Thailand and Cambodia. Everything was as we had hoped. The hotels were exactly what we had hoped for, the flights were good, the connections and taxis were all well organised... even the weather was perfect!

The guides were excellent, especially Silen, our personal guide in Cambodia. She was absolutely first class, with an extensive knowledge, perfect English and a good sense of humour. 

We will be back to Exsus again soon!"

Jacqui & Gary Moul travelled on honeymoon to Indonesia & Borneo, December 2016


"Thank you for putting together such an amazing honeymoon in Indonesia and Borneo for us. We had an amazing time, seeing new sights, experiencing things we could only dream of, and that will stay with us for the rest of our lives - we will probably relive them over and over again. 

The tour guide we had in Borobudur was brilliant. He was really friendly, and we hired him for an extra day, when he took us to see another couple of temples, which we loved, but also into someone's home where they made palm sugar. It was eye-opening. The hotel was amazing - thank you so much for the extra lengths you went to. The view of the temple from our room was so unexpected, and the sunrise over Mount Bromo was breathtaking. 

Then on to Borneo. This had been on our 'must see' list for many years. Our guide there was also friendly, and ever so welcoming. On the first evening, he took us into the rainforest near our hotel in the dark - we even had a few fireflies come round us. It was truly spectacular. We spent the following day on the boat - again the wildlife we saw was out of this world... kingfishers, jellyfish and crocodiles, to name a few. Then going into the feeding stations and seeing the orangutans up so close was most definitely a dream come true.  

As for Bali... what an amazing hotel. It was idyllic. A wonderful place to unwind and relax. Again the honeymoon greeting we received was so different - I loved the way they renamed the villas for each couple staying there. 

We wanted to say a really big thank you for making our honeymoon so special. We loved every second of it and now can't wait to decide where to travel to next."

Paul & Catherine Franchi travelled to Argentina, November 2016


"Our holiday was a truly wonderful, amazing experience - the whole trip ran like clockwork, the enjoyment we had was immense. Millie, who is a great travel expert, is very friendly and very professional with a pleasant persona, and she made us feel immediately at ease and answered any concerns we had. She’s obviously got good taste (!) and is an asset to your team. The whole tour was catered for - the areas we wished to see, flights (international and internal), hotels, taxi pick-ups, guides and tours.

We can't emphasise enough how much we saw of beautiful Argentina - the varied landscape, the friendly and welcoming people, the delicious food and the wonderful experiences. All the accommodation was fantastic, and the service of the local representatives was commendable - everyone was very friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable, a truly magnificent experience.

Every excursion was incredible and so diverse. The Iguazu Falls were amazing and unbelievable. Buenos Aires is beautiful - our highlights were the barrios of Palermo, La Recoleta, San Telmo, San Martin, Puerto Madero and of course La Boca. The tango show was lovely to say the least - the whole experience was exceptionally good, the food was delicious and the show itself was non-stop and so entertaining, we were sad when it finished!!! Mendoza is an incredible area, so full of history in its plazas, and with the whole viticulture industry against the backdrop of the beautiful and imposing Andes. The friendly Angela and Eduardo made our time at Candelaria del Monte, the estancia on the Pampas, incredible, from the service and the professionalism to the horse riding experience and the food.

Thank you to Millie for organising the whole itinerary, her first-hand experience made it all the more enjoyable. The personal touch made us feel confident that booking through Exsus was the right decision."

Phil & Julie Fox travelled to South Africa, October 2016


"I just wanted to say how much we appreciated your help in putting our recent holiday to South Africa together. We had an absolutely fantastic holiday - the attention to detail given by Exsus in the planning and choice of hotels/lodges was certainly not wasted. We had a truly marvellous adventure and no snags along the way at all. Mont Rochelle is awesome and I would recommend it without reservation. From start to finish, we just loved it and I hope in the future I/we will be able to call on you again to plan another great holiday."

Filippo E & his family travelled to Cambodia, Vietnam & Singapore, August 2016


"Everything was perfectly organised: we were met punctually at all our destinations; the local guides were all very helpful and enthusiastic with good levels of English and local knowledge; the hotels were top class and the mix of destinations was very good. Asia is definitely a good value destination for families compared to other parts of the world.  Exsus was proficient, knowledgeable and amazingly helpful."

David McOmish & his family travelled to Peru, August 2016


"We've done a lot of travelling over the years, and used loads of travel operators but Exsus is easily the best we've come across. The support and knowledge and basic hand-holding was exemplary. Really very much appreciated. Millie was absolutely excellent in terms of the advice and guidance she provided. All of her tips and advice were accurate and certainly helped smooth the progress of the holiday."

Katie Delanoe & her husband travelled to Malaysia and Borneo, July 2016


"I would just like to say the biggest ever thank you for helping to make our honeymoon in Malaysia and Borneo so fantastic. We are absolutely thrilled at how amazing our trip was. We could not have been happier with the trip and the itinerary you helped put together and the fantastic service you have all provided from start to finish - the organisation was exceptional.

The guides were fantastic and could not have done more to look after us. The staff at the lodges helped to make our honeymoon so memorable, with a cake in both lodges and all the staff singing to us - it was a lovely touch. 

We could not have asked for anything more and we are so grateful for all your hard work. We wouldn’t have changed a thing, and we do not have a single complaint. I am so grateful to have booked through such a fantastic company. Your staff are such a huge asset and no question was too much of a problem. 

Thank you so much again and we hope to book with you in the future. The whole trip was perfect from start to finish. I will highly recommend your services to my friends and colleagues."

Annie & Joe travelled to Panama, July 2016


"The trip to Panama was perfect! We absolutely loved everything. We would have never discovered Punta Caracol on our own, and it was amazing! Thank you for everything."

Dean & Julia travelled to Peru, July 2016


"Thanks for organising a fantastic holiday for us in PeruYour selection of hotels was spot on: they were a little oasis wherever we went and the itinerary was just what we were looking for. Nice touch in letting the hotels know it was our wedding anniversary as well, thanks for this - we were upgraded three times! The guides were excellent in every location, and very professional and helpful. I would recommend them and yourselves to anyone."

Mikhail travelled to Hawaii, July 2016


"My trip to the USA was absolutely amazing, and I'm definitely going to be using Exsus again! I will also be referring many other people - we have all loved the planning, the itinerary and the app."

Colin S travelled to Borneo, June 2016


"My trip to Borneo was very well organised, and my personal preferences were accommodated with no problem, including my choice of airport and a rail trip running out of Kota Kinabalu. The personalised app, with my itinerary, maps and weather information on it, was also useful. It is attention to little details like this that means I'll certainly be using Exsus again. The holiday was just great!"

Carol Haywood-Poole & Martin Holdridge travelled to Victoria Falls and Botswana, May/June 2016


"We had a sensational experience -  we were really well looked after and had a fabulous birthday. The Islands of Siankaba was outstanding, and so were the game drives and variety of animals. Overall, one of our best holidays."

Jon W travelled to Bali, Singapore and Lombok, May 2016


"We booked the best holiday we've ever had. It was literally the trip of a lifetime to Bali, Singapore and Lombok."

YOUR JOURNEY STARTS HERE

call us on 020 7337 9010 to start planning your perfect trip

Make an enquiry