Exsus client reviews

Voted Top Ten Specialist Tour Operator by Conde Nast Traveller, Exsus has more than 15 years' experience of creating luxury tailor-made holidays all around the world. Over the years, we've received countless testimonials from people who have travelled with us on a luxury holiday, bespoke honeymoon or family adventure. Many of these clients come back time and again for their tailor-made travel. Below is a selection of reviews from clients who've returned from a holiday with us recently.

Vanessa Webber & her partner travelled to Oman, May 2017

"We loved Oman - beautiful country, peaceful people, mountains, desert, turtles, Muscat and beach.  Still unspoilt.  We particularly enjoyed sunset on the camel ride (very calm, well looked after camels) and sunrise where we walked up the sand dunes. Mohamed, our driver and guide was excellent - very helpful, very friendly, very knowledgeable.  Although the holiday was only eight nights, it felt like a long holiday and it was lovely and relaxing at the end.  Alison was extremely helpful and knowledgeable; nothing was too much trouble."


Jennifer Wright & Daniel Kibblesmith travelled to Morocco, April 2017

"Our trip to Morocco was truly the best we've ever had. And we never could have done it ourselves! Dallal has been so patient and attentive, and has truly made this an outstanding experience. Our driver in particular was so helpful, whether it was showing us how to haggle or taking pictures to help us remember the trip. We were already excited about going up in the hot air balloon - but getting served a champagne breakfast onboard really turned it into one of the most memorable experiences we've had. Obviously, riding a camel is also something we might never get to do again, and the tent in the desert blew us away. We both found great souvenirs at the tannery in Fes, and I really loved getting to check out the parfumerie in Marrakesh. Now, whenever I put on that perfume, I think of Morocco. 

If we had spent double the money and tried to do this ourselves we NEVER would have been able to plan the trip this well!"

Em & family travelled to Italy, April 2017

"Thanks Exsus once again for the unreal holiday in Italy! We enjoyed our private boat trip on Lake Como and the visit to Villa Balbiano, which most people don't even know about. Your guide was so knowledgeable she timed our tour so it was just us, and not with the main group. Thanks also for the suggestion for Hotel Villa Athena, a beautiful, charming hotel in Agrigento, and for arranging my mother's birthday dinner at the Michelin-starred restaurant Principe Cerami in Taormina, which was just perfect. Can't wait for our next trip!"

Terry and Nora Freeman travelled to Grenada, Caribbean, April 2017

"We would like to say thank you once again for your help, organisation and hard work for our fabulous holiday in Grenada. We felt like royalty! It was wonderful, and thank you also for the flowers for Nora's birthday - they were a lovely surprise. We enjoyed the VIP lounge in Grenada airport (another nice surprise), and our hotel, the Spice Island Beach Resort, was also wonderful. Our suite had a large plunge pool, a sauna, a patio area and a garden with our own lizard! The main pool, beach and views, as you know, are beautiful.

We could never get bored here: we went on several trips, and saw waterfalls, the rainforest, two chocolate factories, a nutmeg station, the old airfield, spice markets and the mysterious lake at an altitude of 1,000 feet. We also did a snorkelling trip - which is must - to the sunken statues of Artist Bay and the reefs of Flamingo Bay.

In summary, it was perfect for us, for what we needed this time, and as I said earlier the whole experience felt like we were royalty."

Ms S & family travelled to Italy, April 2017

"The trip to Italy was wonderful. Both cities [Florence and Venice] are magical places to visit and the hotels were perfect. All the organisation went like clockwork and we loved it. We will definitely be returning to both places!"

Nampetch & Narit travelled on honeymoon to Italy, March 2017

"Thanks to you and the Exsus team for an exceptional honeymoon trip you organised for us around Italy, including the room upgrades - this was perfect. All of the services and transportations were also seamlessly perfect. We really appreciated the notes and champagne you left in our rooms. We really enjoyed our time in Italy, and we will remember this trip for a long time to come. Thank you so much!"

Julian Smith & friends travelled to South America, March 2017

"The service we have had from Exsus all the way through our holiday in South America has been just about perfect: we really appreciate everything you have done."

Catherine McDonald travelled to Oman, February 2017

"Amazing trip - we are so glad that we travelled around so much in Oman. Alison structured an excellent itinerary for us and helped quickly and efficiently with small issues before we left.

Abdullah, our guide for the mountains and desert, was wonderful. He had a wealth of knowledge and was very thoughtful and flexible in the way that he tweaked our schedule. Made the holiday for us. The guide and driver for Muscat were both charming. We also went dolphin-watching in Muscat - and luckily saw some dolphins. Easy and fun.

The highlights - hiking in the mountains, the wadis, everything about the Alila Jabal Akhdar and, of course, Abdullah."

Phillippa Rooney & family travelled to Iceland, January 2017

"We saw some amazing sights in Iceland and enjoyed both the tour guides we had. We loved getting outside, walking, snowmobiling, etc, and we loved the super jeep! The guide was very nice and tuned in well to us, and we felt completely confident in his driving abilities which was quite important as he took the vehicle in all sorts of places we wouldn't have wanted to do ourselves! Svavar, the guide we had on the last two days, was also super - he was very interesting and funny and spent a lot of time helping our daughter Rose with her photography. 

Snowmobiling was fabulous and we had an amazing day seeing waterfalls and geysers. The jeep day to Thorsmork was also excellent - we went onto a glacier and saw an ice cave, and also went into a canyon and climbed up to a waterfall, which was quite an adventure. 

On the south coast tour, we saw where the volcano had erupted that closed Europe's airports, and the black sand beach and rock formations were well worth the visit, and we went to a glacier on the way back. 

Restaurants - the fish market that you booked for us was great, we had a round table for eight of us which worked really well. We had the tasting menu and it was really excellent. We also had a nice meal at KOL.

The Blue Lagoon was a great thing to do on the way to the airport - best airport travelling day we have ever had!" 

Mr & Mrs Rigg travelled to Thailand and Cambodia, January 2017

"Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday in Thailand and Cambodia. Everything was as we had hoped. The hotels were exactly what we had hoped for, the flights were good, the connections and taxis were all well organised... even the weather was perfect!

The guides were excellent, especially Silen, our personal guide in Cambodia. She was absolutely first class, with an extensive knowledge, perfect English and a good sense of humour. 

We will be back to Exsus again soon!"

Jacqui & Gary Moul travelled on honeymoon to Indonesia & Borneo, December 2016

"Thank you for putting together such an amazing honeymoon in Indonesia and Borneo for us. We had an amazing time, seeing new sights, experiencing things we could only dream of, and that will stay with us for the rest of our lives - we will probably relive them over and over again. 

The tour guide we had in Borobudur was brilliant. He was really friendly, and we hired him for an extra day, when he took us to see another couple of temples, which we loved, but also into someone's home where they made palm sugar. It was eye-opening. The hotel was amazing - thank you so much for the extra lengths you went to. The view of the temple from our room was so unexpected, and the sunrise over Mount Bromo was breathtaking. 

Then on to Borneo. This had been on our 'must see' list for many years. Our guide there was also friendly, and ever so welcoming. On the first evening, he took us into the rainforest near our hotel in the dark - we even had a few fireflies come round us. It was truly spectacular. We spent the following day on the boat - again the wildlife we saw was out of this world... kingfishers, jellyfish and crocodiles, to name a few. Then going into the feeding stations and seeing the orangutans up so close was most definitely a dream come true.  

As for Bali... what an amazing hotel. It was idyllic. A wonderful place to unwind and relax. Again the honeymoon greeting we received was so different - I loved the way they renamed the villas for each couple staying there. 

We wanted to say a really big thank you for making our honeymoon so special. We loved every second of it and now can't wait to decide where to travel to next."

Paul & Catherine Franchi travelled to Argentina, November 2016

"Our holiday was a truly wonderful, amazing experience - the whole trip ran like clockwork, the enjoyment we had was immense. Millie, who is a great travel expert, is very friendly and very professional with a pleasant persona, and she made us feel immediately at ease and answered any concerns we had. She’s obviously got good taste (!) and is an asset to your team. The whole tour was catered for - the areas we wished to see, flights (international and internal), hotels, taxi pick-ups, guides and tours.

We can't emphasise enough how much we saw of beautiful Argentina - the varied landscape, the friendly and welcoming people, the delicious food and the wonderful experiences. All the accommodation was fantastic, and the service of the local representatives was commendable - everyone was very friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable, a truly magnificent experience.

Every excursion was incredible and so diverse. The Iguazu Falls were amazing and unbelievable. Buenos Aires is beautiful - our highlights were the barrios of Palermo, La Recoleta, San Telmo, San Martin, Puerto Madero and of course La Boca. The tango show was lovely to say the least - the whole experience was exceptionally good, the food was delicious and the show itself was non-stop and so entertaining, we were sad when it finished!!! Mendoza is an incredible area, so full of history in its plazas, and with the whole viticulture industry against the backdrop of the beautiful and imposing Andes. The friendly Angela and Eduardo made our time at Candelaria del Monte, the estancia on the Pampas, incredible, from the service and the professionalism to the horse riding experience and the food.

Thank you to Millie for organising the whole itinerary, her first-hand experience made it all the more enjoyable. The personal touch made us feel confident that booking through Exsus was the right decision."

Phil & Julie Fox travelled to South Africa, October 2016

"I just wanted to say how much we appreciated your help in putting our recent holiday to South Africa together. We had an absolutely fantastic holiday - the attention to detail given by Exsus in the planning and choice of hotels/lodges was certainly not wasted. We had a truly marvellous adventure and no snags along the way at all. Mont Rochelle is awesome and I would recommend it without reservation. From start to finish, we just loved it and I hope in the future I/we will be able to call on you again to plan another great holiday."

Filippo E & his family travelled to Cambodia, Vietnam & Singapore, August 2016

"Everything was perfectly organised: we were met punctually at all our destinations; the local guides were all very helpful and enthusiastic with good levels of English and local knowledge; the hotels were top class and the mix of destinations was very good. Asia is definitely a good value destination for families compared to other parts of the world.  Exsus were proficient, knowledgeable and amazingly helpful."

David McOmish & his family travelled to Peru, August 2016

"We've done a lot of travelling over the years, and used loads of travel operators but Exsus is easily the best we've come across. The support and knowledge and basic hand-holding was exemplary. Really very much appreciated.  Millie was absolutely excellent in terms of the advice and guidance she provided. All of her tips and advice were accurate and certainly helped smooth the progress of the holiday."

Katie Delanoe & her husband travelled to Malaysia and Borneo, July 2016

"I would just like to say the biggest ever thank you for helping to make our honeymoon in Malaysia and Borneo so fantastic. We are absolutely thrilled at how amazing our trip was. We could not have been happier with the trip and the itinerary you helped put together and the fantastic service you have all provided from start to finish - the organisation was exceptional.

The guides were fantastic and could not have done more to look after us. The staff at the lodges helped to make our honeymoon so memorable, with a cake in both lodges and all the staff singing to us - it was a lovely touch. 

We could not have asked for anything more and we are so grateful for all your hard work. We wouldn’t have changed a thing, and we do not have a single complaint. I am so grateful to have booked through such a fantastic company. Your staff are such a huge asset and no question was too much of a problem. 

Thank you so much again and we hope to book with you in the future. The whole trip was perfect from start to finish. I will highly recommend your services to my friends and colleagues."

Annie & Joe travelled to Panama, July 2016

"The trip to Panama was perfect! We absolutely loved everything. We would have never discovered Punta Caracol on our own, and it was amazing! Thank you for everything."

Dean & Julia travelled to Peru, July 2016

"Thanks for organising a fantastic holiday for us in PeruYour selection of hotels was spot on: they were a little oasis wherever we went and the itinerary was just what we were looking for. Nice touch in letting the hotels know it was our wedding anniversary as well, thanks for this - we were upgraded three times! The guides were excellent in every location, and very professional and helpful. I would recommend them and yourselves to anyone."

Mikhail travelled to Hawaii, July 2016

"My trip to the USA was absolutely amazing, and I'm definitely going to be using Exsus again! I will also be referring many other people - we have all loved the planning, the itinerary and the app."

Colin S travelled to Borneo, June 2016

"My trip to Borneo was very well organised, and my personal preferences were accommodated with no problem, including my choice of airport and a rail trip running out of Kota Kinabalu. The personalised app, with my itinerary, maps and weather information on it, was also useful. It is attention to little details like this that means I'll certainly be using Exsus again. The holiday was just great!"

Carol Haywood-Poole & Martin Holdridge travelled to Victoria Falls and Botswana, May/June 2016

"We had a sensational experience -  we were really well looked after and had a fabulous birthday. The Islands of Siankaba was outstanding, and so were the game drives and variety of animals. Overall, one of our best holidays."

Jon W travelled to Bali, Singapore and Lombok, May 2016

"We booked the best holiday we've ever had. It was literally the trip of a lifetime to Bali, Singapore and Lombok."

START PLANNING YOUR NEXT TRIP... Make an enquiry now