Exsus client reviews

Voted Top Ten Specialist Tour Operator by Conde Nast Traveller, Exsus has more than 15 years' experience of creating luxury tailor-made holidays all around the world. Over the years, we've received countless testimonials from people who have travelled with us on a luxury holiday, bespoke honeymoon or family adventure. Many of these clients come back time and again for their tailor-made travel. Below is a selection of reviews from clients who've returned from a holiday with us recently.

Catherine McDonald travelled to Oman, February 2017

"Amazing trip - we are so glad that we travelled around so much in Oman. Alison structured an excellent itinerary for us and helped quickly and efficiently with small issues before we left.

Abdullah, our guide for the mountains and desert, was wonderful. He had a wealth of knowledge and was very thoughtful and flexible in the way that he tweaked our schedule. Made the holiday for us. The guide and driver for Muscat were both charming. We also went dolphin-watching in Muscat - and luckily saw some dolphins. Easy and fun.

The highlights - hiking in the mountains, the wadis, everything about the Alila Jabal Akhdar and, of course, Adbullah."

Phillippa Rooney & family travelled to Iceland, January 2017

"We saw some amazing sights in Iceland and enjoyed both the tour guides we had. We loved getting outside, walking, snowmobiling, etc, and we loved the super jeep! The guide was very nice and tuned in well to us, and we felt completely confident in his driving abilities which was quite important as he took the vehicle in all sorts of places we wouldn't have wanted to do ourselves! Svavar, the guide we had on the last two days, was also super - he was very interesting and funny and spent a lot of time helping our daughter Rose with her photography. 

Snowmobiling was fabulous and we had an amazing day seeing waterfalls and geysers. The jeep day to Thorsmork was also excellent - we went onto a glacier and saw an ice cave, and also went into a canyon and climbed up to a waterfall, which was quite an adventure. 

On the south coast tour, we saw where the volcano had erupted that closed Europe's airports, and the black sand beach and rock formations were well worth the visit, and we went to a glacier on the way back. 

Restaurants - the fish market that you booked for us was great, we had a round table for eight of us which worked really well. We had the tasting menu and it was really excellent. We also had a nice meal at KOL.

The Blue Lagoon was a great thing to do on the way to the airport - best airport travelling day we have ever had!" 

Mr & Mrs Rigg travelled to Thailand and Cambodia, January 2017

"Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday in Thailand and Cambodia. Everything was as we had hoped. The hotels were exactly what we had hoped for, the flights were good, the connections and taxis were all well organised... even the weather was perfect!

The guides were excellent, especially Silen, our personal guide in Cambodia. She was absolutely first class, with an extensive knowledge, perfect English and a good sense of humour. 

We will be back to Exsus again soon!"

Jacqui & Gary Moul travelled on honeymoon to Indonesia & Borneo, December 2016

"Thank you for putting together such an amazing honeymoon in Indonesia and Borneo for us. We had an amazing time, seeing new sights, experiencing things we could only dream of, and that will stay with us for the rest of our lives - we will probably relive them over and over again. 

The tour guide we had in Borobudur was brilliant. He was really friendly, and we hired him for an extra day, when he took us to see another couple of temples, which we loved, but also into someone's home where they made palm sugar. It was eye-opening. The hotel was amazing - thank you so much for the extra lengths you went to. The view of the temple from our room was so unexpected, and the sunrise over Mount Bromo was breathtaking. 

Then on to Borneo. This had been on our 'must see' list for many years. Our guide there was also friendly, and ever so welcoming. On the first evening, he took us into the rainforest near our hotel in the dark - we even had a few fireflies come round us. It was truly spectacular. We spent the following day on the boat - again the wildlife we saw was out of this world... kingfishers, jellyfish and crocodiles, to name a few. Then going into the feeding stations and seeing the orangutans up so close was most definitely a dream come true.  

As for Bali... what an amazing hotel. It was idyllic. A wonderful place to unwind and relax. Again the honeymoon greeting we received was so different - I loved the way they renamed the villas for each couple staying there. 

We wanted to say a really big thank you for making our honeymoon so special. We loved every second of it and now can't wait to decide where to travel to next."

Paul & Catherine Franchi travelled to Argentina, November 2016

"Our holiday was a truly wonderful, amazing experience - the whole trip ran like clockwork, the enjoyment we had was immense. Millie, who is a great travel expert, is very friendly and very professional with a pleasant persona, and she made us feel immediately at ease and answered any concerns we had. She’s obviously got good taste (!) and is an asset to your team. The whole tour was catered for - the areas we wished to see, flights (international and internal), hotels, taxi pick-ups, guides and tours.

We can't emphasise enough how much we saw of beautiful Argentina - the varied landscape, the friendly and welcoming people, the delicious food and the wonderful experiences. All the accommodation was fantastic, and the service of the local representatives was commendable - everyone was very friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable, a truly magnificent experience.

Every excursion was incredible and so diverse. The Iguazu Falls were amazing and unbelievable. Buenos Aires is beautiful - our highlights were the barrios of Palermo, La Recoleta, San Telmo, San Martin, Puerto Madero and of course La Boca. The tango show was lovely to say the least - the whole experience was exceptionally good, the food was delicious and the show itself was non-stop and so entertaining, we were sad when it finished!!! Mendoza is an incredible area, so full of history in its plazas, and with the whole viticulture industry against the backdrop of the beautiful and imposing Andes. The friendly Angela and Eduardo made our time at Candelaria del Monte, the estancia on the Pampas, incredible, from the service and the professionalism to the horse riding experience and the food.

Thank you to Millie for organising the whole itinerary, her first-hand experience made it all the more enjoyable. The personal touch made us feel confident that booking through Exsus was the right decision."

Phil & Julie Fox travelled to South Africa, October 2016

"I just wanted to say how much we appreciated your help in putting our recent holiday to South Africa together. We had an absolutely fantastic holiday - the attention to detail given by Exsus in the planning and choice of hotels/lodges was certainly not wasted. We had a truly marvellous adventure and no snags along the way at all. Mont Rochelle is awesome and I would recommend it without reservation. From start to finish, we just loved it and I hope in the future I/we will be able to call on you again to plan another great holiday."

Filippo E & his family travelled to Cambodia, Vietnam & Singapore, August 2016

"Everything was perfectly organised: we were met punctually at all our destinations; the local guides were all very helpful and enthusiastic with good levels of English and local knowledge; the hotels were top class and the mix of destinations was very good. Asia is definitely a good value destination for families compared to other parts of the world.  Exsus were proficient, knowledgeable and amazingly helpful."

David McOmish & his family travelled to Peru, August 2016

"We've done a lot of travelling over the years, and used loads of travel operators but Exsus is easily the best we've come across. The support and knowledge and basic hand-holding was exemplary. Really very much appreciated.  Millie was absolutely excellent in terms of the advice and guidance she provided. All of her tips and advice were accurate and certainly helped smooth the progress of the holiday."

Katie Delanoe & her husband travelled to Malaysia and Borneo, July 2016

"I would just like to say the biggest ever thank you for helping to make our honeymoon in Malaysia and Borneo so fantastic. We are absolutely thrilled at how amazing our trip was. We could not have been happier with the trip and the itinerary you helped put together and the fantastic service you have all provided from start to finish - the organisation was exceptional.

The guides were fantastic and could not have done more to look after us. The staff at the lodges helped to make our honeymoon so memorable, with a cake in both lodges and all the staff singing to us - it was a lovely touch. 

We could not have asked for anything more and we are so grateful for all your hard work. We wouldn’t have changed a thing, and we do not have a single complaint. I am so grateful to have booked through such a fantastic company. Your staff are such a huge asset and no question was too much of a problem. 

Thank you so much again and we hope to book with you in the future. The whole trip was perfect from start to finish. I will highly recommend your services to my friends and colleagues."

Annie & Joe travelled to Panama, July 2016

"The trip to Panama was perfect! We absolutely loved everything. We would have never discovered Punta Caracol on our own, and it was amazing! Thank you for everything."

Dean & Julia travelled to Peru, July 2016

"Thanks for organising a fantastic holiday for us in PeruYour selection of hotels was spot on: they were a little oasis wherever we went and the itinerary was just what we were looking for. Nice touch in letting the hotels know it was our wedding anniversary as well, thanks for this - we were upgraded three times! The guides were excellent in every location, and very professional and helpful. I would recommend them and yourselves to anyone."

Mikhail travelled to Hawaii, July 2016

"My trip to the USA was absolutely amazing, and I'm definitely going to be using Exsus again! I will also be referring many other people - we have all loved the planning, the itinerary and the app."

Colin S travelled to Borneo, June 2016

"My trip to Borneo was very well organised, and my personal preferences were accommodated with no problem, including my choice of airport and a rail trip running out of Kota Kinabalu. The personalised app, with my itinerary, maps and weather information on it, was also useful. It is attention to little details like this that means I'll certainly be using Exsus again. The holiday was just great!"

Carol Haywood-Poole & Martin Holdridge travelled to Victoria Falls and Botswana, May/June 2016

"We had a sensational experience -  we were really well looked after and had a fabulous birthday. The Islands of Siankaba was outstanding, and so were the game drives and variety of animals. Overall, one of our best holidays."

Jon W travelled to Bali, Singapore and Lombok, May 2016

"We booked the best holiday we've ever had. It was literally the trip of a lifetime to Bali, Singapore and Lombok."

Mr Baron travelled to Cuba and Mexico, March 2016

"The trip was fantastic. The guides and your representatives were excellent. Havana was fascinating and so interesting. In Mexico, the Belmond Maroma was up there with the best hotels we have stayed in.

We had never used Exsus before, but will definitely use you again."

Sarah J travelled to Botswana, South Africa and Mauritius, March 2016

"It was a wonderful holiday and everything went like clockwork. Both camps in Botswana were beautiful and we loved them both.

Thank you for a splendid time!"

Natasha & her friends travelled to Iceland, February 2016

"All three of us want to thank you for the organisation of our trip. Iceland is more than an amazing place, it's another planet - so unique! As I have told you it is the northernmost place we have ever been and we are absolutely impressed. We'll go again, definitely, but in summer, to see an 'other' green country and discover its natural beauties, which were covered by ice at this time of year.

All your choices were very good. Both hotels, Borg and Ranga were nice, with good service and large rooms (the Antarctica suite at Ranga was an excellent choice, since it is the only room with a north view and we could see the Northern Lights through our windows and not outside, freezing!) All the local agencies, eskimos, mountaineers and helicopter staff are very professional and friendly, including all the drivers and pilots.

We are already thinking about our next trips with you, including to New Zealand at Easter and a tour of Scotland's whisky distilleries.  

Thank you once again for the so good work you have done!"

Mrs B travelled to South America, January 2016

"We wanted to let you know how we got on in South America – in short, we had an incredible time.

Thank you for putting together a brilliant trip. We could tell how much thought had gone into choosing the route, the hotels and the activities. We enjoyed every moment of it.

Our highlight would have to be Ushuaia where we loved the scenery and the contrast compared to everywhere else we went. We also could not fault our stay at Legado Mitico in Buenos Aires: the reception team went above and beyond to look after us, and they deserve a special thanks!

All of the flights worked out well and we had no issues with our connections and indeed all of your local partners looked after us very well. 

Thanks again for organising such a great trip. We are happy returning customers, having already travelled to Vietnam, Cambodia, Sri Lanka and the Maldives with you on previous trips!"

Mr M travelled to Spain, January 2016

"Just a quick note to thank you for organising our Spainand Granada trip, on very short notice.

The Alhambra and Generalife are just fantastic, like nothing else you'll ever see. A real eye-opener to the extraordinary state of (non-European) civilsation in a period of history that we're not taught at school. Quite apart from the buildings, which are beyond beautiful, the whole setting with hilltops, fabulous gardens, ramparts that are easy to walk around, makes for a new and amazing view every single minute. (Can quite see why this place doubles as 'King's Landing', there's a mythical feel to it). Pleasantly surprised to find that the site is compact enough to be walkable in a couple of hours - not just around the Alhambra but also that it's a very pleasant walk in and out of Granada. The walk along the Carrera del Darro is especially a delight: tranquil and timeless, with the Alhambra hill always on the skyline. Granada itself was a pleasant city for walking around on comfortably cool, sunny January days, with lots of other good things to see - the Madraza, the Albaicin, the cathedral: top quality history and refreshingly unselfconscious about it, with very little tourist tat.  

The Palacio de Los Patos hotel was very comfortable and central, with lovely staff. 

Delightful short break, thank you so much for arranging!"

START PLANNING YOUR NEXT TRIP... Make an enquiry now